News Release

OKFB to honor members, counties during annual meeting awards program

October 26, 2018  • News Center

Oklahoma Farm Bureau will recognize members and counties for leadership, service and excellence during an awards banquet to be held Saturday, Nov. 17 at 7 p.m. during organization’s 77th annual meeting in Norman, Oklahoma.

This year, all county representatives are invited to attend the dinner and awards banquet. Members must RSVP for the free event to Melisa Neal by Nov. 5. Below, find a list of awards to be presented along with a description of each.

Distinguished Service to Oklahoma Farm Bureau Award

The award honors OKFB members who have made outstanding contributions to agriculture and the Farm Bureau organization.

Lewis H. Munn Award

Known as the Farm Bureau Builder’s Award, the award is named for OKFB’s second state president who served for 22 years. It is presented every year to the county excelling in the program area of service to members.

John I. Taylor Award

Named for OKFB’s first state president, this prestigious award recognizes the top county Farm Bureau. It is OKFB’s highest county recognition. Se|ection is made from the counties earning the Four-Star Presidential Award. The winner must excel in at least six program areas.

Farm and Ranch Family Recognition

Each year, the OKFB Women’s Leadership Committee chooses and honors district farm families who best represent farming and ranching and the spirit of Oklahoma agriculture. The families must display excellence in the following areas: strong family involvement in all phases of farm management and production; innovative family farm operation and management; use of modern agricultural techniques; and active leadership in Farm Bureau, the community, and other agricultural groups. 

YF&R Achievement Award

This contest recognizes OKFB’s leading young farm and ranch family or individual. The award is judged on involvement in the community and Farm Bureau, as well as the quality of the contestant’s farming operation and leadership activities. The winner will receive a prize package including an opportunity to compete nationally at the American Farm Bureau Federation annual meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana, in January.

YF&R Excellence in Agriculture Award

This award recognizes a Young Farmers and Ranchers member, who does not derive a majority of income from an owned operation, for excellence in agriculture and Oklahoma Farm Bureau. Participants are judged on involvement in agriculture, leadership ability, and involvement in Farm Bureau and other organizations. The winner will receive a prize package including a trip to compete at the AFBF annual meeting in January in New Orleans, Lousiana.

YF&R Discussion Meet

Held during convention, participants are judged on the ability to express ideas and opinions in an attempt to influence each other by posing and answering questions on the issues driving agriculture today. The goal is to reach a solution to a stated problem. The winner will receive a prize and an opportunity to compete nationally at the AFBF annual meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana.

YF&R Charles Roff Award

Designed to encourage members to build stronger county programs and to strengthen the organization by increasing participation in state activities, this award recognizes Oklahoma’s top county Young Farmers and Ranchers committee. Applications are judged based on the county’s activities throughout the year. The winner will receive a traveling trophy.

Journalist of the Year Award

This award honors journalists for their contributions through reporting accurately and regularly about Farm Bureau news, agricultural issues and the importance of these to Oklahoma and the nation. 

Secretary of the Year Award

This award honors county office secretaries for their contributions to the overall success of their county Farm Bureau.

Winners will be announced during the Nov. 16-18 convention, on our website and on social media platforms.

For more information about OKFB’s 77th Annual Meeting, view our tentative schedule.

2018 Oklahoma Farm Bureau Convention Sponsors