News Release

Cheyenne student receives $1,000 Farm Bureau Young Farmers & Ranchers scholarship

April 23, 2019  • YF&R

Dixie Boyce-Smith, a Cheyenne High School senior, has been awarded a $1,000 college scholarship from the Oklahoma Farm Bureau Young Farmers & Ranchers Committee.

The scholarship is presented to high school seniors pursuing a degree in agriculture at an accredited Oklahoma institute of higher learning.

“These nine scholarship recipients are the future of rural Oklahoma and the agriculture industry,” said Brent Haken, OKFB YF&R chairman. “As fellow young farmers and ranchers ourselves, the OKFB YF&R committee is proud to support these bright students as they pursue their academic endeavors to be involved in one of the most rewarding industries today.”

After graduating in May, Boyce-Smith plans to study animal science, animal biotechnolog, and pre-vet at Oklahoma State University in Stillwater, Oklahoma.

Other students receiving the award include Darci Peach, Seiling; Peyton Burns, Kingfisher; Rio Bonham, Madill; Anna Bolen, Idabel; Tee Jay Trotter, Vian; Bree Kisling, Chisholm; Angelica Ann Beck, Moss; and Ashton Cartmell, Perkins.

The nine scholarship recipients have a wide variety of career aspirations and have chosen degrees across the agriculture industry including animal science, pre-vet, agricultural communications, agricultural business, agricultural engineering, horticulture, agricultural education, and meat science and food safety. 

Students plan to study at higher-education institutions across the state including Oklahoma State University and Eastern Oklahoma State College.

The OKFB YF&R committee each year presents $1,000 scholarships to high school seniors pursuing a degree in agriculture at an Oklahoma accredited institution of higher learning. The scholarship program is open to members of Oklahoma Farm Bureau. To learn more about the program, contact YF&R Coordinator Zac Swartz at 405-523-2300.

Oklahoma Farm Bureau is a grassroots farm organization with more than 80,000 members throughout all 77 Oklahoma counties. Learn more by visiting