News Release

2017 OKFB YF&R scholarship winners announced

May 18, 2017  • YF&R

The Oklahoma Farm Bureau Young Farmers & Ranchers selected nine Oklahoma high school students to receive $1,000 scholarships to study agriculture at an institution of higher education in Oklahoma.

“Agriculture plays such an important role in Oklahoma, and our Young Farmers & Ranchers committee is honored to help Oklahoma students continue their passion for agriculture,” said Travis Schnaithman, OKFB YF&R Chairman. “We hope this scholarship will help develop the next generation of agriculturalists who will go on to create the future of our industry.” 

The nine students receiving 2017 YF&R scholarships are:

  • Anna Blasdel, OKFB district one
  • Luke Muller, OKFB district two
  • Macy Griffin, OKFB district three
  • McKenna Laminack, OKFB district four
  • Rhiannon Wyma, OKFB district five
  • Grant Hubbard, OKFB district six
  • Brooklan Taylor Light, OKFB district seven
  • Shyann McWhirter, OKFB district eight
  • Kohl Murray, OKFB district nine

The nine students receiving scholarships have a wide variety of agricultural career interests and are choosing degrees spanning the agriculture spectrum, including plant and soil science, agricultural economics, parks and recreation management, agricultural communications, agri-business, agricultural law, agricultural education, and plant biotechnology.

Students plan to study at a variety of Oklahoma higher-education institutions, including Oklahoma State University, Southwestern Oklahoma State University, Northeastern A&M College and Conners State College.

The OKFB YF&R committee awards $1,000 scholarships each year to graduating high school seniors who plan to study agriculture at an Oklahoma institution of higher learning. The scholarship program is open to voting members of Oklahoma Farm Bureau.